Millhouse Primary School and Nursery

Governing Body Information

Millhouse Primary School & Nursery Governing Board

The governing board at Millhouse is comprised of 14 members (5 parent governors, 6 co-opted governors, 1 Local Authority Approved Governor and 2 staff members, including the Headteacher). In addition to this, our Deputy Headteachers are associate members. All members are volunteers and do not get paid or receive any rewards.

We have set a strategic structure for the governing board which is made up by sub-committees as well as the full governing board (FGB). The sub-committees are responsible for the strategic oversight of the following areas: finance, personnel, premises and the curriculum and pupil standards. Each sub-committee meets at least once a term to discuss these areas. The FGB also meets every term.

Millhouse governors are expected to have the best interests of all children and staff at the school in mind at all times. We visit the school to carry out monitoring activities which allow us to fulfil our statutory responsibilities. Our expectation is that every governor visits the school once a term to do this. Some governors have additional monitoring responsibilities such as reporting on safeguarding or Special Educational Needs.

New governors receive induction training and a programme of professional development is delivered throughout the year for all governors. All governors have an enhanced DBS check and are vetted through the school’s safer recruitment process.

Any communication for the governing board should be addressed to the relevant governor or full governing board and sent to the school address or email.



Millhouse Primary School and Nursery

Headteacher : Gareth Allen

Tavistock Road | Laindon | Basildon | Essex | SS15 5QF

Contact Information